Lahontan Community Foundation

Lahontan Community Foundation

Lahontan Community Foundation (LCF) was founded in 2002 by the members, homeowners and employees of the Lahontan Community.  We believe that the privilege we share of living, working and playing at Lahontan also brings a responsibility to give back to the larger local community we all enjoy so much.

Our mission is to bring the Lahontan community together, to have fun and raise as much money as we can to support the good works of local non-profit organizations making a difference in the Truckee-North Tahoe region.

20 Years of Giving
Since its inception in 2002, the LCF has raised over $2.3 million in support of the North Tahoe Community and the Lahontan Employee Tuition Reimbursement Program.

The LCF Community Cup is our primary fundraising event each year.  This event started as a small golf tournament and has grown in scope over the years to include both a men's and women's tennis and pickleball tournaments, both a live and silent auction and raffle followed by a family style dinner with dancing.  In addition, we gather for a Summer Stroll Sip and Shop event as well as the annual Pinewood Derby and a raffle at the Tin Cup Tournament. 

However, in both 2020 and 2021, the LCF was unable to hold its major fundraisers due to the Covid-19 pandemic.  Our members generously responded in 2020 to our request for donations and we were able to grant out, $168,000. In 2021, as the pandemic continued, our members again gave generously and we were able to grant out $235,601 to the twenty-six nonprofits listed below.  In 2022, we were able to hold our two minor fundraisers, and our members again donated generously. We will be granting these funds out in Spring of 2023. 

LCF Community Grants
Each Spring is the LCF Grants Sycle during which we grant funds to the North Tahoe community. Applications are received each March and reviewed and evaluated by the Grants Committee of the LCF Board, with support and guidance from the Parasol Tahoe Community Foundation.  The grants are usually awarded and announced in June of each calendar year. These grants are usually given out in the areas of: health and human services, education and youth development, environment, recreation and animal welfare and arts, culture, and civic life. 

The twenty-six grant recipients in 2022 are:
Achieve Tahoe, Aim High, Adventure Risk Challenge, Boys & Girls Club of North Lake Tahoe, Clean Up The Lake, Gateway Mountain Center, Humane Society of Truckee Tahoe, High Fives Foundation, Kids & Horses, Lake Tahoe Bicycle Coalition, Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival, Pet Network Humane Society, Positively Rolling, Safe Talk for Teens, Send it Foundation, Sierra Community House, Sierra Senior Services, Slow Food Lake Tahoe, SOS Outreach, Tahoe Cross Country Ski Education, Tahoe School of Music, Tahoe’s Connection for Families, The Truckee Roundhouse, Truckee Community Christmas, Truckee Day, Truckee Trails Foundation.

LCF Board of Directors
Janet Lowell, President 
Suzanne Smith, Vice President
Jeanette Humphreys, Secretary 
Jeff Cobain, Treasurer
Colleen Chapman
Sherrin Fielder
Cheryl Hansford
Beth Hopper
Christine Lindner
MaryAlice Keaton
Donna Lovas
Melanie Nangle
Cindy Salontai
Maja Thaler
Suzanne Thornton

LCF Honorary Board
Virginia Donica 
Lynn Madonna

We make a living by what we get ~
~ we make a life by what we give.   -Winston Churchill

The Parasol Tahoe Community Foundation is a donor service provider, grant maker, and convener serving a range of charitable needs and interests throughout the Tahoe region and beyond. LCF is a committee advised fund held at the Parasol Tahoe Community Foundation and the Parasol Tahoe Community Foundation is the fiscal sponsor of LCF events.

The Lahontan Community Foundation Fund is held at The Parasol Tahoe Community Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization serving the entire Tahoe Region. All donations are tax-deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law. Tax ID# 88-0362053.

To find out more about the Lahontan Community Foundation and how you can help, please contact Board President Janet Lowell at